I like to drink socially or alone, when i eat and when i am happy, I enjoy a drink as much as the next person, so here is the frustrating thing
Many companies refine and clarify their wines and champagnes with non-vegan filling agents.
They use this process to remove bad flavors or unsightly elements while creating “fine” wines. After much research, I compiled this list along with great resources to assist us in avoiding these animal by products.
Some by-products that could be lurking in non-vegan conventional beer and wines are:
- isinglass (fish bladder by-products)
- egg whites
- casein (milk protein)
- gelatin (derived from bones and connective tissues)
- fish gelatin
- egg albumin
- chitin/chitosan (derived for the shells of crabs or lobsters)
We can identify vegan wines by reading the label, looking for the words “vegan” and “unfiltered” printed on the label.